The Cactus Tea room was a restuarant in Austin located at 2208 Guadalupe, (now razed) directly across from the University of Texas campus. It was built ~1920 and designed by Hugo Khuene (Founding dean of the UT School of Architecture).
The proprietors were Morton Brown and Minnie Dill. This unique structure featured Tutor revival styling, carved cactus motif on the bargeboards, and caricature faces mounted on the support poles all carved by Mansbendel. The faces included famous Austinites some with forks, spoons, knives and cigarettes in their mouths. Dr. Mary E. Gearing, the first woman Dean at UT is confirmed as one of the pole character.